Skip to content
Help Center

Choose who can message you

In Settings › Privacy & Security › Messages choose:

  • Everyone: anyone who knows your username can send you a first message. It arrives as a message request.
  • People who know my key: only people who have your Chat Key can start a chat with you. Everyone else sees that they cannot message you.

People you already chat with are never affected. See Your Chat Key.

Reviewed November 2026

Did this answer your question?

All 8 articles in Privacy

Still need help?

Write to us and a person will reply.

Contact us